Celebrate Poetry in the Classroom

Yesterday I had the opportunity to read a Dr. Seuss book to my little grandson.  Austin is five months old now, and what a wonderful experience I had with him!  He actually looked at the book as I held him up against me in my lap and read in my funniest voice.  I would stop and repeat a word here and there, make faces at Austin and get him to laugh.  Hopefully, I will be able to share my love of reading with him, and he, too, will love to read. 

Loving to read does not always come easily to our kids.  There are a lot of other things to get their attention.  How are the students doing in your classroom?  Are they choosing “Just Right” books for independent reading time?  Have they identified a few authors they really enjoy reading?  Are the students still excited about reading, or do you need to shake things up a bit?  Many of the teachers on the blogs I read talk about introducing contests, book talks, and author studies at this time of the year, just to keep the interest high and readers challenged.

For me, I tried to stimulate my Reading and Writing Workshops at this time of the year with poetry.  February and poetry seem to go hand-in-hand.  National Poetry Month is not until April, but February seems to lend itself to celebrating poetry.  After all, we have Valentine’s Day in February and kids love to make up silly rhymes to go with their cards.  Kristine O’Connell George has a wonderful site with 33 ways to celebrate poetry in the classroom.  I hope you try a few!  http://www.kristinegeorge.com/celebrate_poetry.html

The slideshow I created at the top of the page is very simple to do, and what a wonderful way to catch memories from the classroom to write about . . . or as a story starter .  . . or as a way to develop a new ending to a story the class is writing.  The possiblilities are endless, and the website is very easy to use.  Here is the url: http://slide.com

Have a great week, and I hope you find a new book to read!

