A Tribute to our Teachers

The end of the year is always so busy.  Teachers have so much to do as they end the year; assessments, writing prompts, curriculum work, and end-of-year festivities.  This morning as I was doing my journal reading, I came across this poem written for teachers.  I wanted to share it with you, and to say “thank-you” for all the hard work you do.

 

 

When You Thought I Wasn’t Looking

When you thought I wasn’t looking, you displayed my first report, and I wanted to do another.
When you thought I wasn’t looking, you fed a stray cat, and I thought it was good to be kind to animals.
When you thought I wasn’t looking, you gave me a sticker, and I knew that things were special things.
When you thought I wasn’t looking, you put your arm around me, and I felt loved.
When you thought I wasn’t looking I saw tears come from your eyes, and I learned that sometimes things hurt–but that it’s all right to cry.
When you thought I wasn’t looking, you smiled, and it made me want to look that pretty too.
When you thought I wasn’t looking, you cared, and I wanted to be everything I could be.
When you thought I wasn’t looking–I looked…and wanted to say thanks for all those things you did when you thought I wasn’t looking.
                                                                                                                            – Mary Rita Schilke Korzan

The willingness to help each other and to share ideas is another tribute to the kind of teachers we have in our district.  This week one of our first grade teachers at WOHE shares an idea to help students find details in the text to answer the question.  Take a look at the activity sheet Wendy used with her students, and then watch her as she explains what she did.  Thanks Wendy for a great idea, and for sharing with the rest of us!

Finding Details in Text

Finding Details in Text Video Explanation

